Home Tags Posts tagged with "grand budapest hotel"

grand budapest hotel


Oscar-nominated movie Birdman has been honored at the 17th Costume Designers Guild Awards on Tuesday, February 17th, 2015 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California.

The Michael Keaton movie won the prize for excellence in contemporary film, while Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel won the period film category.

Birdman and The Grand Budapest Hotel are nominated for best picture at the Academy Awards, although only Wes Anderson’s film is up for the best costume Oscar.

The musical Into the Woods won in the fantasy film category.Birdman wins  big prize at Costume Directors Guild Awards 2015

With costumes designed by multiple Oscar-winner Colleen Atwood, it beat Guardians of the Galaxy, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1 and Maleficent.

Double Oscar winner Albert Wolsky’s costumes in Birdman triumphed over Boyhood, Gone Girl, Interstellar and Wild.

Milena Canonero – yet another multiple Academy Award winner – beat The Imitation Game, Selma, The Theory of Everything and Inherent Vice with her costumes for The Grand Budapest Hotel.

Boyhood director Richard Linklater was honored with the distinguished collaborator award.

Harrison Ford presented the career achievement award to Aggie Guerard Rodgers, with whom he worked on a number of films including American Graffiti, Return of the Jedi and The Fugitive.

She was nominated for an Oscar for The Color Purple and also worked on One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, The Rainmaker and Beetlejuice.

Achievements in television were also recognized at the ceremony, with True Detective winning the outstanding contemporary TV series award.

Game of Thrones won the period/fantasy series prize and American Horror Story: Freak Show won the mini-series award.

[youtube Oa67ItFZCYA 650]


Full list of winners at the 2015 Costume Designers Guild Awards:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
Birdman – Albert Wolsky
Excellence in Period Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero
Excellence in Fantasy Film
Into the Woods – Colleen Atwood
Excellence in Commercial Costume Design
Army, “Defy Expectations, Villagers” – Christopher Lawrence
Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
True Detective – Jenny Eagan
Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton
Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Mini Series
American Horror Story: Freak Show – Lou Eyrich


The Grand Budapest Hotel has won the top film prize at this year’s Writers Guild Awards.

Wes Anderson’s comedy, which is nominated for nine Oscars, won the award for best original screenplay – for a script co-authored by Anderson and Hugo Guinness.

Graham Moore picked up best adapted screenplay award for his work on The Imitation Game, about World War II code-breaker Alan Turing.

The annual awards were announced simultaneously at ceremonies at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles and the Edison Ballroom in New York City.

Grand Budapest Hotel – which picked up the BAFTA for best original screenplay earlier this month – is nominated in the same category at this year’s Academy Awards on February 22.

Graham Moore’s script for The Imitation Game is also Oscar-nominated in the best adapted screenplay category.Writers Guild Awards 2015 Grand Budapest Hotel

It was beaten to the BAFTA by Anthony McCarten’s The Theory of Everything – which was not eligible as a nominee at the Writers Guild Awards (WGAs), because of Guild rules regarding jurisdiction and membership.

Another major Oscar contender, Birdman, was also ineligible because four of the writers are not guild members.

The Writers Guild Awards have a healthy track record of predicting the Oscar winners – picking the same winners in the adapted screenplay category 14 times over the past 20 years.

However, last year John Ridley’s script for 12 Years a Slave was ineligible at the WGAs, yet went on to win the Oscar for adapted screenplay.

HBO’s hit series True Detective, starring Matthew McConaughey, led the television categories, winning best drama and best new series.

Louie also picked up two awards, for best comedy series and best comedy episode.

Grey’s Anatomy creator Shonda Rhimes collected the Paddy Chayefsky Award for career achievement in TV, telling the audience she remains “amazed there is a job where I get to make stuff up for a living”.

There was a standing ovation as the Screen Laurel Award was presented to Daniel Ramis, on behalf of his late father Harold Ramis, whose screenwriting credits included Ghostbusters and Groundhog Day.

Harold Ramis died a year ago this month, at the age of 69.

[youtube c5X2hrFdREQ 650]


The Grand Budapest Hotel has opened this year’s Berlin Film Festival to rave reviews.

A notable absentee from Berlin is the late actor Philip Seymour Hoffman, who died on Sunday of a suspected drug overdose.

Philip Seymour Hoffman had been due to attend the festival to promote his film God’s Pocket.

Instead, a screening of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s Oscar-winning performance in the film Capote will be screened in tribute on Tuesday.

“He was one of the greatest actors we had in the world,” festival director Dieter Kosslick told the Reuters news agency.

The Grand Budapest Hotel has opened this year’s Berlin Film Festival to rave reviews

The Grand Budapest Hotel has opened this year’s Berlin Film Festival to rave reviews

Wes Anderson’s latest movie The Grand Budapest Hotel stars British actor Ralph Fiennes as the famous concierge Gustave H, who woos octogenarian blonde widows at an Alpine hotel. When one dies in mysterious circumstances and leaves him a valuable painting, it sets in motion a chain of murder and mayhem.

It co-stars an enviable line-up of actors including Anderson regulars Bill Murray and Jason Schwartzman, Saoirse Ronan, Tilda Swinton, Edward Norton, Willem Dafoe, Jude Law and Tom Wilkinson.

Wes Anderson is a European festival favorite. His last film, Moonrise Kingdom, opened the Cannes Film Festival in 2012 and earned him an Oscar nomination for best screenplay.

His previous films include The Fantastic Mr. Fox and The Royal Tenenbaums.

The eight-member jury, chaired by Brokeback Mountain producer James Schamus includes Oscar-winner Christoph Waltz and actress Greta Gerwig.

It will announce the winner of the prestigious Golden Bear and other prizes on February 15.

Other films screening out of competition include Lars von Trier’s Nymphomaniac and Calvary, a black comedy drama starring Brendan Gleeson and Chris O’Dowd.

[youtube M974ikTJ1AU 650]